What is the CPR?

The European Construction Product Regulation (CPR) aims to ensure reliable information on the performance of products used in structures. This is achieved by harmonizing the rules for how the construction products and cables are tested and classified.

What does CPR mean?

CPR is an acronym for the European Construction Product Regulation (CPR).

What products are covered by the CPR?

Any product manufactured and launched on the market that will constitute a permanent part of a building, and which performance will affect the performance of the Building.

How will the CPR affect the cable industry?

The fire properties of cables are important for fire safety in buildings. This is why cables have been included in the European classification system under the CPR (Construction Products Regulation). This will give us a coordinated product standard, EN50575, for these cable types.

When will the change enter into force?

During the period 1 July 2016 – 1 July 2017, there will be a gradual transition to the new standard and the new common CE marking.The transition period will end on 1 July 2017 and any conflicting national standards must cease to apply at the same time; CE marking will be mandatory from this date.

Who is affected by the new standard?

Manufacturers are obliged to manufacture or launch cables in accordance with the new standard, draw up a DoP, and CE mark the product. The product features must comply with the declared performance.

Authorities are obliged to  specify the requirements for industry players.

Clients, e.g. construction engineers, architects, designers are obliged to be familiar with the new standard, what it involves and which products are covered in order to choose the correct cables for the building type.

Wholesalers are obliged to be familiar with the new standard, what it involves, which products are covered, and have the correct range in stock.

Contractors are obliged to be aware of the change and be able to choose the correct cables.

How does the new standard differ from the old one?

The new EN 50575 standard brings together standards for testing more parameters than before. This means that the cables will now be tested for energy content, spread of fire, smoke, acidity, heat emission and droplet formation (burning plastic droplets that spread fire).
In the old standard, cables were only classified with regard to spread of fire.

What are the new classes called?

The new classes are called A, B, C, D, E, and F with various additional designations. Where A means that the cable is not flammable and F means that the fire performance has not been established.

What type of cables are covered?

Power, telecommunications, and signal cables for permanent installations in buildings.

What has been changed in the cables?

Some cables will need to be changed because they do not satisfy the new requirements concerning flammability, smoke generation or burning droplets.

Why halogen-free?

Cables without halogen have a greater chance of satisfying the requirements for the new  fire classes. In case of fire, halogen-free cables only emit weak smoke, with no corrosive fumes. In the event of a fire, the difference between PVC and halogen-free cables may therefore be crucial for evacuation and extinguishing the fire. Choosing halogen-free cables might save lives.

A manufacturer produces a construction product or has a construction product produced that is sold within the EU. Those who import and are the first to launch the product on the EU market are also deemed manufacturers.

Find a contact near you