Fire classes

The former fire classes for cables will be replaced by the new classifications in accordance with the standard EN 50575.EN 50575 now brings together the standards for testing a number of parameters, which means that the cables will be tested for energy content, spread of fire, smoke, acidity, heat emission and droplet formation (burning drops of plastic that spread fire), where the old classes only covered spread of fire.

There are seven new classes

Aca, B1ca, B2ca, Cca, Dca, Eca, and Fca. The Aca class applies to non-flammable products such as cables with ceramic insulation. B1ca represents the top class of flammable cables. B2ca and Cca correspond to cables with some degree of spread of fire. Dca corresponds to fire properties like those of normal wood, and Eca is made up of cables that are flame-retardant for small flames but which do not have specified heat and smoke production levels. Fca means that no fire properties have been determined.

Choose the right cable

Each country decides the fire class level that a installation needs to follow.

About PVC, halogen-free, and the CPR

Halogen-free is not a requirement under the CPR. But when we talk about fire safety, the most important difference between a halogen-free cable and a cable with PVC is that the halogen-free cables produce significantly fewer harmful substances and less fumes when it burns. The smoke generation and spread of poisonous particles are two of the criteria in the new standard, which means that halogen-free cables have a greater chance of satisfying the new requirements.

Find a contact near you